Our Team

Trustees of The Bhopal Medical Appeal

LAURIE FLYNN - Trustee of The Bhopal Medical Appeal. Laurie is an award-winning investigative journalist and documentary filmmaker and Producer of two authoritative World In Action documentaries on the Bhopal Disaster.
It's very difficult for me to put into words how upsetting it is to come back here 26 years later and see that the only force that has made any attempt to clear up this tragic and dreadful place is Mother Nature
TIM EDWARDS - Executive Trustee of the Bhopal Medical Appeal. Tim cycled to Bhopal in 1999, and has advocated for Bhopal survivors ever since. He's a spokesperson for the International Campaign for Justice in Bhopal, a coalition of Bhopal survivor groups and international NGO.
We took water samples from hand pumps here and tested them in Exeter at Greenpeace's research laboratory where we found the levels of carbon tetrachloride now to be 3000 times the Environmental Protection Agency limits.

Kathy Jenkins - Trustee

Trade Union activist with a focus on occupational health and safety. Largely retired NHS employee who worked in community development, public health, and health promotion.

Dr. Chandana Mathur - Trustee (Currently on sabbatical)

Lectures in the Department of Anthropology at the National University of Ireland, Maynooth.

Avaes Mohammad – Trustee

Working across poetry, theatre and performance, with a background in the chemical sciences, artist-alchemist Avaes Mohammad has performed on stages across the UK, Europe, India, Pakistan and South Africa. His poem Bhopal, as commissioned by BBC Radio 4 won an Amnesty International Media Award.

Sathyu Sarangi - Trustee

Since 1984 Sathyu has lived in Bhopal. He has been involved with the multiple activities run by a network of local, national and international groups, pursuing health and economic needs, fighting legal claims, providing medical support and reminding the world that the Bhopal disaster of 1984 happened. Sarangi is the founder of several activist organisations. He is also the founder and manager of the Sambhavna Trust.

Subir Sarkar - Trustee

Natural Philosopher and Head of Particle Theory Group, Department of Physics Oxford University. Educated at the Indian Institute of Technology, in Kharagpur, India and the TATA Institute of Fundamental Research, Subir also worked in science education at Eklavya, Bhopal. He moved to the UK and took up his post at Oxford in 1990. He also participates in experiments that study high energy cosmic rays, neutrinos and gamma-rays, such as those taking place at the IceCube Neutrino Observatory stationed at the South Pole.

Eurig Scandrett - Chair

Educator and activist in environmental, peace, gender and trade union issues employed at Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh where he teaches sociology and researches environmental justice movements. He coordinated the Bhopal Survivors’ Movement Study and edited Bhopal Survivors Speak: emergent voices from a People’s Movement (2009, Word Power Books). He was previously Head of Community Action, and is currently Chair of the Board of Friends of the Earth Scotland.

Staff of the Bhopal Medical Appeal

Georgina le Clercq - Donor Relations Manager

Rupert Burgess - Finance Manager

Colin Toogood - Campaigns Manager

Syed Tabish Ali - Information Officer

Sarah Slight - Charity Administration Officer

Matt Kay - Events Fundraising Officer

Patrons of The Bhopal Medical Appeal

Michael Eavis CBE

English dairy farmer and the creator of the Glastonbury Festival, which takes place at his farm in Pilton, Somerset.

Navin Shah

Labour politician and London Assembly Member for Brent and Harrow.

Jon Snow

Journalist and television presenter. He is the longest-running presenter of Channel 4 News, which he has been presenting since 1989.

We believe Dow must finally accept responsibility for Bhopal. Until then, The Bhopal Medical Appeal funds two award-winning clinics in the city. Both offer free, first-class care to victims of the gas disaster or the ongoing water contamination. The survivors have nowhere else left to turn – please help if you can.